My first encounter with feminism was as a theory. As a young hispanic woman, I was told that I was considered a double minority and because of this I should work very hard to succeed and prove that women of all races could achieve anything they wanted. Once I succeeded in school and graduated I entered the work force and with this I became the token mexican girl. I did experience some discrimination. While working in a small hospital in the rural areas of Texas, a doctor approached me and asked if when I cleaned his office I could make sure this time I cleaned the trash that was behind his desk because I always seemed to forget it. I held a bachelor’s degree, but because what he saw was a hispanic woman he assumed that I was a custodian. I have encountered many other stereotypical assumptions since then, but this one has always stuck with me. I guess because at the time, I was young and felt that society was very advanced in its thinking. I signed up for this course to learn more about the history of feminism and its pioneers. With this knowledge, I will be able to make a unit about the history of latin women, their influences, and successes while researching the barriers and societal constraints they had to overcome to succeed in their quest for equality. I feel this is an important theme for high school girls trying to find their place in the world.

