To begin, I’m going to let you all know that I love shopping. I also love well put together commercials and magazine advertisements. I like them because it requires the creator to include a fully developed story in either a very brief amount of time or within a single photo. That’s a challenge, but so many people do it well. Advertisements tell the story of the product or the company and I think some of them have even bigger things to say than that.

As Feminism is becoming more well-known, it is steadily gaining more supporters. This, in turn, is gaining media attention. Many companies are now creating commercials that not only promote their products, but feminism as well. One of my favorite examples of this is a commercial for Secret deodorant.

I love this because it brings attention to the struggles of women in the workplace. Of course, they promote their product too. The way I see it is this: the company was going to promote their product anyway, no matter what, but they chose to promote it alongside an important issue. Some people claim that these types of ads are simply taking advantage of a trending topic. Still, why is that bad? The more people that are exposed to Feminism, the better. In addition, the customer wants to buy products from companies that stand behind a certain set of morals!

I recently received an email from one of my favorite stores, Hot Topic. The email was promoting their new product line. Take a look:

pic for fem blog3.jpgpic for fem blog1pic for fem blog2

I personally like the first one the best! However, my point is that large companies are taking notice of a very important cause. These shirts are super cute, but more importantly, they are a casual way to promote what you believe in. Sometimes, engaging in conversations about Feminism with people can make them aggressive, but who’s going to sit there and argue with a T-shirt? I’m sure there are a few out there…but what I mean is that wearing a shirt like this is an easy, non-combative way to show your support.

I like companies and products that support the same ideas that I do. Often, some of these large companies make donations to causes that correlate with their message. Thinking about this so much recently has made me want to research more of the companies that I buy from to see what they support. I encourage you all to do the same!

If any of you find more feminist advertising or products, please post them below!

